Discussing what counts….

…by Emiabata-Balogun Temitope

My First Job Interview

Posted by 'tope on June 27, 2007

Hello readers,

Please give me some of your time; I would love to share my first job interview experience with you. I actually was invited to a firm run by someone I admire so so much because of the kind of inspirations I derive from him. On getting there, though I couldn’t make it first thing in the morning like most interviews, I was welcomed by what I may say cold faces. Someone met with me, since I couldn’t talk with the MD who invited me over as he was busy (they are always busy). He just asked a few questions for what I came for and told me to wait. I was thinking I was waiting to see the MD but no, this man came back after about 30 minutes and said I was actually to meet with him in about 15 minutes. So out of idleness, and I took my phone, thank God for GPRS, I got on the internet. While I was checking up on my mail, a thought came to me, what if this is an interview what would I say I knew about their company? Immediately I changed address and searched for their company website. While I was digging through their profiles, he came back holding a piece of paper and said “alright Tope I would like to learn a few things about you”. My mind was thinking ‘why do I have to tell you about myself’, but I saw seriousness in the whole thing and I sat up. The company site still loading more pages on my phone, I had to put it off. “Tell me about yourself”. It now dawned on me that this must be HR here, this is an interview.

Ok, so I looked confidently into his face (I was actually shocked, nervous and pretended to look confident) and started to roll on. It was exciting after some time to find myself doing what I have been preparing for about 6 months. I had actually dug through in last 6 months materials that could help me get any interviews right. So see me here getting tested on what I thought I had learnt so far. I spoke with some pride but tailored it creatively to suit their purpose. I cited examples, please this brother was just nodding throughout like he understood everything I was saying, and I almost lost confidence. I tried not to talk off point. He lashed questions, ‘’so how can you help us, what part do you think you can play here, what were your secondary school grades, college grades, current standing – from what I see here it looks like you just want to be a parasite”, God, I had to defend all my points, indicate I wanted to align my values, interests, strengths with theirs. I had to tell him my weaknesses and I made sure I indicated how I was already working on that – no more smiling. “Well Tope that will be all”, “Thank you”, “I would get back to you”.

Still waiting, I just kept smiling. He came back in more friendly tones, explaining their various departments, strengths, focus, and asked where I thought I could fit in. I hilariously chose my most confident option and after all he said I could see the MD anytime I wanted. I thanked him and walked over to see the MD, felt like a champion.

It is good to have adrenaline pump sometimes, like you see a car that looks so gorgeous and your heart skips a beat. I am looking forward to as many interviews in my life time, and I would continue to build on what would market me more. One thing reflected a lot as a need in getting out there, Leadership. I have given myself a task to do all it takes to exhibit leadership. You are always welcome on my team of self developers.

Leave a comment